Copenhagen, Denmark
27 April – 1 May 2013

Tivoli Gardens

Grants, Prizes & Awards

ESE is pleased to announce that the 2013 prize lectures have been awarded to Professor Iain Clarke (Geoffrey Harris Prize) and Professor Felix Beuschlein (European Journal of Endocrinology  Prize).

Both prizes will be presented during the ECE 2013 Opening Ceremony where Professor Clarke will present his lecture titled Cross-talk and chatter in Reproductive Neuroendocrinology and Professor Bauschlein will present his lecture titled ‘Regulation of Aldosterone secretion - from physiology to disease’.

Further information regarding the Geoffrey Harris and European Journal of Endocrinology Prizes

Fondation IPSEN Prize

The Fondation IPSEN was created in 1983 and placed under the auspices of Fondation de France. It aims at tracking progresses in biomedical research with a special attention paid to the cross-roads of knowledge and to interdisciplinary fertilisation.

Its main activities are focused on organising scientific meetings (on its own or in collaboration with institutions and major scientific journals), awarding prizes, publishing books, reports, brochures, etc which are widely distributed in the scientific community.

The Endocrine Regulations prize was launched in 2002 in collaboration with Claude Kordon.  There is now a long list of highly recognised scientists recipients.  Among them, Wylie Vale, Robert Lefkowitz, Pierre Chambon, Tomas Hökfelt, Roger D. Cone, William Crowley, Ron Evans, Gilbert Vassart, Shlomo Melmed and Paolo Sassone Corsi.

The current international jury is composed of : Iain Robinson (President), Xavier Bertagna, Felipe Casanueva, Michael Conn, Alain Enjalbert, Ezio Ghigo, Ilpo Huhtaniemi, Paul Kelly, Steven Lamberts, Stafford Lightman,  Günter Stalla and Phyllis Wise.

The 2013 prize has been awarded to Bert O'Malley (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, USA) in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the understanding of "hormone action and gene expression".

ESE Meeting Grants

ESE offer 50 meeting grants per year worth up to €400 each for ESE members to attend an ESE meeting.
ESE meeting grants are designed to be a contribution towards the total cost of attending an ESE meeting in accordance with the eligibility criteria.

Tell me more about ESE Meeting Grants...

ESE Basic Science Meeting Grant

Following the success of the ESE Basic Science meeting grant introduced in 2012, ESE is pleased to offer 100 grants, worth €450 each to basic scientists with a high marking abstract accepted for the ECE 2013 congress.

Tell me more about the ESE Basic Science Meeting Grant...

ESE Young Investigator Awards

Six ESE Young Investigator awards, worth €3000 each, are awarded to researchers who submit abstracts (basic or clinical) to the annual European Congress of Endocrinology.  The prize is generously supported by Novartis.
Tell me more about the ESE Young Investigator Awards...  

The ESE Poster Prizes

The ESE Poster prizes, worth €500 each, are awarded to the four best posters on display at ECE 2013. The prize is generously supported by Novartis.

Tell me more about the European Society of Endocrinology Poster Prizes...

The Endocrine Nurse Poster Prize

The Endocrine Nurse Poster Prize, worth €500, will be awarded to the top scoring nurse poster submitted for ECE 2013.  It will be announced during the congress.  The prize is generously supported by Novartis.

The Journal of Endocrinology Travel Grants

The Journal of Endocrinology offers Travel Grants of €300 each to ten young scientists attending the European Congress of Endocrinology. Applications are made during the abstract submission process.

Tell me more about the Journal of Endocrinology Travel Grants...

Download JOE Travel Grant application (MS Word) (228kb)